The little things

like sitting listening while I cry. like washing the dishes while I sleep. Sometimes, well most of the time, it is little things that tell me you love me. We need to tell each other how much we appreciate each other every day. Because suddenly the days will run out and there will be no more time to say them.

I had a disappointment on Friday where I learned that I was not selected for an interview. I know the strength of my disappointment matched my unrealistic expectations. I had expected to get the interview and was so certain that it came as a bit of a shock to hear that I did not get it. A touch of arrogance perhaps as I knew the competition was fierce for the role. However, now that my disappointment has abated I feel determined to make every day count. I can learn in my current role. There is so much yet that I do not know. I have the benefit of loving my role, my team and my boss. These are all positives and I should hold onto them.

Why do I feel that I need to apply for a new role then? I have been in my role for a number of years. I have been getting better and better at my role, but there is only so far you can develop in one position. It is difficult because I do like my role and the people I work with. Things are always changing. Even though I stay in my role, the people around me change.

I’m sorry for the rambling, self-reflective post. I know there are so many more important topics to discuss. Especially with the new conflict in Israel and Palestine. To all those affected by the conflict, know that I do care for you and your pain.

1 Comment

  1. When time is right, change will come for us, too. Sometimes when things seem to stay the same in a role, life is giving us space to grow – maybe calmer, maybe more relaxed, whatever… Cheers to you and hopefully chat soon!

Leave a comment